TAA Elects James G. Bell as President, New Board Members

Jimmy Bell TAA president

The Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance board of directors elected James G. Bell as president for the 2021 term and elected new board members at its meeting Dec. 14.

Bell, president and racing manager of Godolphin, served as TAA president in 2014. During his tenure at Godolphin, he has overseen the careers of Sheikh Mohammed’s many U.S.-based grade 1 winners including Bernardini, It’s Tricky, Cocoa Beach, Music Note, Questing, Better Lucky, Maxfield, and Essential Quality, among others. He has held various positions on industry and community boards, including the The Jockey Club, Keeneland Association, Fayette Alliance, Thoroughbred Club of America, and Kentucky Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association, to name just a few.

“Seemingly, you can step aside but not away from an organization so meaningful and impactful as the TAA,” Bell said. “We’ve had great leadership, a totally dedicated staff, and a mission that continues to need fulfillment. As a part of the team, I’m looking forward to another year of new milestones and new relationships.”

John Phillips, owner of Darby Dan Farm, served as TAA president in 2018 and 2020. Phillips will remain on the TAA’s board and executive committee for 2021 as immediate past president.

“In order for the Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance to protect our sport by protecting our equine athletes, it takes a tremendous amount of time and dedication by staff and a board of directors,” Phillips said. “With these individuals’ strong commitment to aftercare, I look forward to working alongside them to advance the TAA’s efforts of providing a safe landing for our Thoroughbreds out of racing.”

Bell and Phillips are joined on the executive committee by TAA Vice President Jeff Bloom, managing director of Bloom Racing Stable; TAA Treasurer Jen Shah, director of tax services at Dean Dorton; and TAA Secretary Walter Robertson, attorney at Stites & Harbison.

The TAA rotates its board of directors and its executive officers.

The board members beginning service in 2021 are: Madeline Auerbach, a founding board member of the TAA, founder of the California Retirement Management Account (CARMA), and a Thoroughbred owner and breeder; and Tom Cannell, board member of the Florida Horsemen’s Benevolent and Protective Association and a Thoroughbred owner.

They join current TAA board members: Boyd Browning, Brian Graves, Chip McGaughey, Craig Bandoroff, David O’Farrell, Donna Brothers, Dora Delgado, James Gagliano, Jeffrey Bloom, Jen Shah, John Keitt, John Phillips, Josh Rubinstein, Martin Panza, Nicole Walker, Richard Schosberg, Simon Bray, Susie Hart, Tom Ventura, Walt Robertson, and Yvonne Schwabe.

Click here to see the full list of the TAA’s board of directors.